Still being able to connect to broker after enabling require_certificate

Hello all,

This is my first time trying to setup a MQTT broker using mosquitto. I’ve gone through the steps of creating certificates using this guide: Some Notes on setting up MQTT over TLS - Raspberry Pi Forums

It all worked fine, but when adding require_certificate true in the mosquitto config, I could still connect without using TLS. If I need to provide any more information, please tell so.

Hi,

It’s a pretty good overview on that page. I’ve just tested this myself and it worked exactly as I expected, so let me explain what I did so we can find out what is different.

I’m using mosquitto 2.0.11, and I’m using certificates that are in the mosquitto repository so I don’t need to worry about generating them myself. The certificates are only useful when working on a single computer, but that’s fine here.

My configuration file is:

listener 8883
cafile test/ssl/all-ca.crt
certfile test/ssl/server.crt
keyfile test/ssl/server.key
require_certificate true
# To make testing a little simpler:
allow_anonymous true

The certificates are in the test/ssl directory of the mosquitto source, I’m going to be running mosquitto from the root directory of the mosquitto source:

cd /path/to/source
mosquitto -c test.conf -v

Now I’ll try to connect with mosquitto_sub. First without specifying our CA certificate (because we’re using port 8883, mosquitto_sub will default to using TLS in version 2.0 and later, in earlier versions it would not use TLS unless explicitly told to).

$ mosquitto_sub -p 8883 -t topic -d
Client (null) sending CONNECT
OpenSSL Error[0]: error:1416F086:SSL routines:tls_process_server_certificate:certificate verify failed
Error: A TLS error occurred.

As expected, the client rejected our custom certificate.

Now trying with the CA certificate (which is at test/ssl/all-ca.crt):

$ mosquitto_sub -p 8883 -t asdf -d --cafile test/ssl/all-ca.crt