Mosquito in docker on Synology - external access

I am new to Mosquitto,

How do I access Mosquitto Broker that is running in Docker on a Synology NAS.

I need to find / enable external address of the Broker so my Particle Boron can communicate with the Broker.

Your help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Hi chela,

Sorry for the delay replying!

There are two things you need to consider from the Mosquitto side when running on Docker. First off, you need to configure one or more ports that Mosquitto will listen on. You do this in your configuration file. Here are some examples, there are more details on the configuration file at mosquitto.conf man page | Eclipse Mosquitto and

# Listener with no encryption and no authentication/access control
listener 1883
allow_anonymous true
# Listener with no encryption, with password and acl file access
# See https://mosquitto.org/man/mosquitto_passwd-1.html for info on password files
listener 1883
password_file /mosquitto/config/mosquitto.passwd
acl_file /mosquitto/config/mosquitto.acl
# Listener with no encryption, with dynamic security plugin
listener 1883
plugin /usr/lib/mosquitto_dynamic_security.so
plugin_opt_config_file /mosquitto/data/mosquitto-dynsec.json
# Listener with encryption, with dynamic security plugin
# See https://mosquitto.org/documentation/dynamic-security/
listener 8883
certfile /mosquitto/data/server.crt
keyfile /mosquitto/data/server.key
plugin /usr/lib/mosquitto_dynamic_security.so
plugin_opt_config_file /mosquitto/data/mosquitto-dynsec.json

Once you have your configuration file, it needs to be provided to your container. I would suggest using a local directory structure like this for your container data:

mosquitto/
mosquitto/config/
mosquitto/config/mosquitto.conf
mosquitto/data/