Mac OS Installation failure

I am attempting to install the Broker with the command line, “docker run -it -d --name mos1 -p 1883:1883 -v /etc/mosquitto/mosquitto.conf:/mosquitto/config/mosquitto.conf eclipse-mosquitto:2.”
The folders and files after “-v” are not created.
There is a long failure message, starting with “Error response from daemon: failed to create task for container:…”, and ending with “Check if the specified host path exists and is the expected type.”
I am new at this, and don’t even qualify as a newbie. I would be very obliged for assistance.
Thank you.

Hello smuseby,

I think the issue is due to the mosquitto.conf file being missing in the specified path.
Here is a example mosquitto.conf you could use for testing purposes:

listener 1883
allow_anonymous true

persistence true
persistence_location /mosquitto/data/
log_dest file /mosquitto/log/mosquitto.log

Paste the config file into /etc/mosquitto/config/mosquitto.conf and then run:

docker run -it -d --name mos1 -p 1883:1883 -v /etc/mosquitto/config/mosquitto.conf:/mosquitto/config/mosquitto.conf eclipse-mosquitto:2

You can afterwards use the command line clients for subscribe/publish on MQTT topics.

Examples:

mosquitto_sub -h localhost -p 1883 -t "test"
mosquitto_pub -h localhost -p 1883 -t "test" -m "MQTT is great!"

The command line I ran (from the Cedalo configuration guide) failed to create the path and the mosquito.conf file - it’s a long error message mentioning these and several other failures. The error message concludes with “Check if the specified host path exists and is the expected type.”
I created the path manually, ran the command line again, but that didn’t help.